The Rajasthan Road Trip

Joining Andy and others for the road trip was way out of my comfort zone, and that’s why I accepted without hesitation, I wanted to go out of my comfort zone. I’m not very good travelling with people, in general it takes me a relatively long time to get close to people and open up, specially with women, I’ve never been good with women, odd enough I barely have a close female friend. So, this was my opportunity to practice.

I was worried I won’t be able to fit in the group, and being myself, and well, at first I couldn’t I couldn’t be free enough to act as the real me. it was like I had a guard and I was not willing to let it down. But, as a few hours passed by, I was feeling more relaxed, I was happy I chose to go with them, and we were having a great time.

The plan was to go to Agra, Jaipur, Pushkar and Udaipur. but as  plans always change, we decided to skip Agra and Taj Mahal and head straight to Jaipur. Yes! I went all the way to India and I didn’t see Taj Mahal. Why? It’s very expensive for a backpacker, it’s super busy, and hours will be wasted waiting in the line, only to get in and watch all the tourists busy with their selfie sticks, not even taking a moment to appreciate the moment and see the real beauty of Taj Mahal through their own eyes and not their phones/cameras. I will go to Taj Mahal some day, but at that point none of us had either the budget or nerve to go there.

I spent 4 amazing days with these guys, we talked, laughed,  fought, got drunk, and lived 4 amazing days together. One of the nights, after everyone else was sleeping, Andy started talking to me about his life, his broken marriage, and his kid. Andy works for a very well-known international company in Delhi, he took off on his road trip by himself to recover from his pains, mainly the divorce. He was very confused as to why his wife wanted to divorce him, showing pictures of his wife with other men, he was actively stalking her everywhere, and drinking and smoking his pain away. WE had a great conversation, like 2 friends who have known each other for years….

20170514_122644 (1)
Amber Fort, Jaipur

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

